Hotel Růže Český Krumlov
Very few hotels can boast such a rich history as Český Krumlov’s Hotel Růže. In 1584, William of Rosenberg, Knight of the Golden Fleece and the highest bur grave of Prague, brought Jesuits to his headquarters in Český Krumlov and built them a community. The foundation stone of the Jesuit College was laid on 19 March 1586. On 16 May 1588, William handed the keys of the finished building and the Charter over to representatives of the order. The Jesuit order was cancelled by Pope Clement XIV in 1773, and the College was transferred to military administration. The building was used as a barracks from 1777 until 1887, when troops were withdrawn from Český Krumlov.